These are just not for me!! 

Botanics All Bright Radiance Balm

Any avid reader of beauty blogs will probably be a bit surprised to see this in the list but I was honestly sooo disappointed with it. I read glowing reports about this product before I bought it so I was super excited to try it considering it was so reasonable too but in my experience it just didn’t live up to the hype. I’m so disappointed and confused by my thoughts on it that I’m actually wondering if I’m somehow using it wrong but it made no  difference to my skin at all, no brightening effect, no subtle glow, nothing…It did nothing.

If you’re looking for a budget brightening primer have a look at the Seventeen Wow Skin 3 Way Highlighter I reviewed here in June’s Top Picks , I absolutely love this product and it does exactly what it promises to do.  Just goes to show you can’t always believe the hype!!

Rimmel Scandaleyes Thick & Thin Eyeliner

Earlier this month I decided to branch out from my regular Rimmel Exaggerate liquid liner that I’ve used for Lord knows how long and try something new and I got it in to my head that I wanted to use a felt tip liner because I haven’t had much experience with them. The first one I tried was the Rimmel Scandaleyes Thick & Thin Eyeliner, I was drawn to it firstly because it was made by Rimmel and I just love the Exaggerate liner and secondly I like the idea of the angled pen which is meant to help you achieve, effortless lining whether you want a thick or a thin line.

Disappointing doesn’t even cover it!!

My first issue is the depth of colour, the liner is supposed to be black, it just isn’t, at best it’s Charcoal Grey and when you’re applying it it goes on “gappy”. Secondly it’s supposed to be waterproof and it was melting off of my eyelids. It was all over my eyelid a few hours in to wearing it which is something I never experienced with the Exaggerate one. I wore it two days in a row and to be honest I was so underwhelmed by it on those two days that I didn’t try it a third. There are so many better liquid eyeliners out there. Give this one a big huge skip!!!!

VO5 Give Me Texture Instant Oomph Powder. 

I’m going to start this review off by saying that I think this is hands down THE WORST product I have ever used and I mean that sincerely. I had the misfortune of using this product before a night out… Big, big mistake!! This product is supposed to give your hair volume and in my case all it did was leave my hair flat and sticky. I ended up having to tie my hair up instead the night I used it because it looked greasy and lifeless which is rather annoying considering I had just finished washing and styling it. What’s worse is that my experience with this product has really turned me off of using other volumising powders in case they have a similar effect. It really is one of the biggest faux pas I’ve ever made with a beauty product.. Avoid at all costs!!!!

Leave a Reply

